44 Comments
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

I love all of Cori Doerrfeld book’s! I think she is from Minnesota maybe? I get a lot out of picture books. It’s hard to pick! I mean, ‘oh no gotta go’ made me very seen as a parent whose child often urgently needs to go to the bathroom with little warning. ‘Rissy No Kissies’ helped me explain to my child that they can say no to things like hugging and kissing. Some books are just so entertaining and delightful, like See the Dog/Cat and the pigeon books in particular from Mo Willems although I love all of his books!

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

I love Duck Death and the Tulip for all my existential crises, and really love We Found A Hat by Jon klassen for showing at the most basic level what love is!!!! Also madame badobedah for showing a story from a kid view and also an adult view -

Also I think I need The Rabbit Listened haha

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022·edited Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

I try to re-read "The Little Prince" every year, and every year its counsel that "one sees clearly only with the heart" seems more and more true.

If you want to dive deeper, there's a great New Yorker essay on the book, by Adam Gopnik: https://www.newyorker.com/books/page-turner/the-strange-triumph-of-the-little-prince

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

Miss Rumphius! It’s a great sadness that my kids don’t seem to love this book as much as me but I find it so moving! Reminds me to cultivate beauty where I can and that it can be done in the smallest of acts!

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

Matilda, always and forever. A story about listening to children, bad grown ups, magic, love, and books.

Expand full comment

The picture book Looking for a Smile by Ellen Tarlow, illustrated by Lauren Stringer, is a great way to talk about depression and what someone can do when someone they love suffers from it, following Bear who's lost his smile, and his friend Bird. It's about the power of sitting with a friend without saying a word, the power of presence. This book captures joy well, too, and ends up back at joy so sweetly: "Then Bear felt something deep inside him. It rose and rose and suddenly . . . there was Smile!"

Expand full comment

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland 💕 ✨ 🐰 🎩 🫖 👧

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022·edited Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

These are slightly older 'children's' books - but I so enjoyed reading The Wild Robot with my 6 year old, and its sequel. My kid loved the story and the pictures; for me it was an essay on motherhood - so beautiful.

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

I love this question. I teach high school students and this year my advisees are seniors. For our first meeting of the year I read them "Harold and the Purple Crayon" and we all talked about who or what our purple crayons are and it was lovely. I debated if they were going to appreciate it or think it was silly and was so happy that they also loved it (and loved being read to even as 17/18 year olds!)

Expand full comment

The Ari Ara series by Rivera Sun. It's soooo good. Nonviolence. Coming of age. Beautiful storytelling. Love!

Expand full comment

A picturebook called "Pizza for Breakfast" now OOP unfortunately. With a wonderful theme of recognizing happiness when you have it, a rather adult "message," but my sons loved the book! By Maryann Kovalski.

Expand full comment
Nov 2, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

One of my favorite books is an Easter book titled: The Country Bunny. The mama bunny just speaks to me! :)

Expand full comment

What a great question!!

There are so many, but one I keep thinking about is After The Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) by Dan Santat. It has such a delightful twist that kind of gives me a more enchanted view of the world?

Expand full comment

I love Bear by Himself by Geoffrey Hayes. A beautiful story about the joy of being alone!

Expand full comment
Nov 2, 2022Liked by Sarah Miller

So many to choose from, but I have to go with Hap-Pea All Year by Keith Baker.

This book isn't especially poignant, it's just a cute rhyming book about the months of the years (with peas), but I love picture books with lots to look at in the pictures, and Hap-Pea All Year does this beautifully. I love studying the pictures with my kids and on my own.

Expand full comment

Courage by Bernard Waber! I have gifted copies to many adults because it somehow helps me each time I read it.

Expand full comment

The Rabbit Listened is so wonderful (and I love learning from the comments below that I ought to check out Cori's other books).

Saturday by One Mora makes me feel all the feels as a working mom who often feels guilty and gets frustrated when activities and life don't proceed as planned. I feel for the mom so much... plus, the lesson that, in the end, our children just want our time and attention and grand gestures or "perfect" days aren't required.

Expand full comment