90 Comments
deletedApr 9·edited Apr 9
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

We just finished the Pooh books (AA Milne) as our bedtime read and it was one of those magic ones where the 6 year old was enchanted and 10 year old (who officially refuses bedtime reading) always found her way to listen too. Looking for another read with similar magic! We started Last Of The Great Whangdoodles but it moved too slowly (for 6yo and for me, ha!). Maybe Tuesday At The Castle?

On our own, 10yo is back on a Warriors kick, 6yo is obsessed with the Max Meow series, and I’m still thinking about Splinters by Leslie Jamison — beautiful.

Expand full comment

As I type, my son is rereading an Alex Neptune book and my daughter is rereading Katherine Rundell’s The Explorer. She got to page 99 of Hatchet and decided the pilot was just too scary, so has taken a break - so I read it myself and WOW! I know everyone else has read it, but if by any chance someone reading this hasn’t… do! Together we have been enjoying The Atlas of Lost Kingdoms - just read this morning about the sunken ancient Chinese city hidden beneath a reservoir, and Timelines of Nature, where we recently read about strawberry development, mould, and the seasonal cycle of a forest.

For myself, I have just read The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Speckled Band, and A Study in Scarlet (Sherlock Holmes binge), and, for something completely different, Moneyball. No idea about baseball so 50% of the book made absolutely zero sense to me, but thoroughly enjoyable regardless.

Expand full comment

We're re-reading the first Unicorn Rescue Society, which we first read on a fever-dream family holiday (sick kiddo, remote bothy, Scottish summer so it never got properly dark). And my mom ordered the rest. Realised it's perfect to have kiddo read alternating chapters, fairly complex vocabulary but the line spacing is more generous, and the chapters are short.

Expand full comment

The DK Watch me grow series looks wonderful, have added it to our list.

Our bedtime books this week are:

Room on the broom by Julia Donaldson

Hairy Maclary by Lynsey Dodd (our favourites in this series are Rumpus at the vet; Zachary Quak and Shoo)

The Colour Monster goes to school by Anna Llenas

(and after a hectic weekend we've added Hands are not for hitting by Martine Agassi into the mix too)

Expand full comment

MG mysteries of my new friends Taryn Souders, Kate Jackson, and Elizabeth C Bunce, all Agatha nominations to be chosen at Malice Domestic in two weeks. Just finishing THE GIRL IN WHITE by Lindsay Currie

Expand full comment

Since you loved IVAN, you should read Dan Gemeinhart's THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY OF COYOTE SUNSHINE. Coyote loves IVAN and makes many title suggestions. A sequel was just released! BTW, it's sad and uplifting.

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

We've been reading and re-reading the whole Dory Fantasmagory series-- thank you again for introducing me to them!

For myself, I've just finished Talking at Night which I LOVED. I've heard it's similar to Normal People but less millennial angst. The story was magnetic-- I finished it in 2 days!

Expand full comment

5 year old: The Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels, Tangled on Yoto Player

2 year old: Blippi Things that Go!

Expand full comment

7 yo: graphic novels of I Survived series- American Revolution, Chicago Fire, Titanic and Katrina have all been favorites in the last few months, also still big on Dog Man- Grime and Punishment and Mothering Heights were his choices for our spring break trip

4.5 yo- Ricky Ricotta series, There was an Old Lady who Swallowed a Worm by Lucille Colandro

Both- Pele King of Soccer El rey del Futbol by Monica Brown- I loved this book and illustrations as my 7 yo started spring season of soccer, my husband is also coaching high school girls

For myself, last week I finished Just for the Summer by Abby Jimenez and got to read the ARC for Not Another Love Song by Julie Soto

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

Reading Anne of Green Gables to my 6 and 9 year old girls! We’re clasping our hands just like Anne with an e does, and enjoying it thoroughly. Great for both ages and the book itself just holds up so well, so many years later.

We started it as an audiobook on a road trip and I’m finishing it as a hard copy. It’s been hard to compete with Rachel McAdams wonderful narration!!

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

We’ve been listening to IVAN on Yoto over here! 💛

Also just finishing the ONCE UPON A TIM series with my 3yo, but we are also loving HAROLD AND THE PURPLE CRAYON, PRETTY UGLY (Sedaris), THE MOUSE WHO CARRIED HIS HOUSE ON HIS BACK (Stutzman), ROAR LIKE A DANDELION (Krauss), and NEVER, NOT EVER! (Alemagna).

I’m working through a stack of middle grade novels but my adult read is POOR DEER (oshetsky) -- unsettling and weird, like I love.

Expand full comment

I just read Knight Owl yesterday and ADORED it! I read it while sitting in a field waiting for the eclipse, and my chuckling got my mom and then my brother to read it, so I'M STILL SPREADING THE ADULTS READING PICTURE BOOK LOVE, SARAH!!!

Expand full comment

8YO is reading book 3 of the Best Wishes series and re-reading the graphic novel the Tryout. Together we read the new Princess in Black Prince in Pink by Shannon Hale.

I just finished a Lucy Foley mystery the Hunting Party and debating starting another or finishing a nonfic, Lady Justice.

Expand full comment

Yay for Ivan!!! So so good. And that idioms book looks absolutely delightful.

I've been on a rare adult book kick lately. Usually I'm deep in middle grade and chapter books, but one of my favorite reads lately was the second in the Thursday Murder Club series by Richard Osman. They are just so much fun. And then recently I just finished Britt-Marie was Here by Frederik Backman. His books just make me happy to be alive.

Expand full comment

My daughter and I also just read Tuesdays at the Castle-- it was so good! We just started the next book in the series- Wednesdays in the Tower. Connor and I are reading 'The Magician' by Michael Scott, which is the second book in The Alchemyst series. He loves it--I think most middle schoolers would! I just finished What Happened to Rachel Riley? by Claire Swinarski, and it was fantastic. A super important read that I'm actually going to post about soon. Now I'm reading Psalm for the Wild Built by Becky Chambers. I never read sci-fi, but I'm into it!

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

7yo is OBSESSED with Harriet Muncaster's Isadora Moon series. (Actual quote from school drop-off this morning: "You can keep reading, but I need you to get out of the car now.") Also flying through Sophie Mouse and Pet Rescue series. I need longer-lasting books that are still at this early-chapter-book reading level, publishers. She's also got Cricket in Times Square as her current audiobook. This one took a while for her to want to pick up, but she's onto the second disk and hooked.

4yo is testing my "I don't judge my children's book selections" value, with endless licensed-character books, half of which are for shows she doesn't even watch. Thanks, preschool peers!

I just inhaled Ink Blood Sister Scribe, and have been re-reading Bujold's Vorkosigan books as part of a year-long readalong. Aside from those, next in my queue is Sword Catcher, which comes highly recommended.

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

With my 8yo: El Deafo (Bell), Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library (Grabenstein), The Terrible Two (Barnett).

With my 3yo: Big (Harrison), Dogger (Hughes), Don't Want To Go! (Also Hughes, I'm discovering in this moment!), Panda & Polar Bear (Baek)

With my own self: She Come By It Natural: Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs (Smarsh), Anita de Monte Laughs Last (Gonzalez), The Great Transition (Googins), The Connellys of County Down (Lange).

Enjoying all!

Expand full comment
Apr 9Liked by Sarah Miller

We are full on in the Dav Pilkey phase of life! Apparently poetry is "boring" (this pains me but I'm optimistic he will change his mind one day).

Expand full comment

Hubby and I are traveling and have been listening to Yumi and the Nightmare Painter by Brandon Sanderson while in the car. I’ve already read it and couldn’t wait to share it with him! We also just finished reading Very Rich by Polly Horvath. Love her stuff! It’s always funny and quirky and full of heart.

Expand full comment
Apr 10Liked by Sarah Miller

My husband got the first seven Baby Sitters Club graphic novels for me as a birthday present this year to read with our kids, and my 3.5 year old son is OBSESSED. Some of the plot points are obviously over his head right now (Stacy's diabetes, Kristy's mom remarrying, etc), but he is devouring them and then reading them to his little brother as well. As an elder millennial who grew up on these books, it is honestly so much fun to share this with him!

Expand full comment
Apr 10Liked by Sarah Miller

Our 3yo and 4yo are currently reading on repeat:

A Chair For My Mother by Vera B. Williams, a forever classic

Milo's Hat Trick, a sweet story about a magician and a friendly bear

Goldilocks and the 3 Bears by Jan Brett (the illustrations in this edition are 😍.There's a lot of repitition so it's not my favorite to read, but their joy absolutely makes up for it.)

Expand full comment

My two and four year old love The Very Very Far North by Dan Bar-El. It's a great bed time read and I enjoy reading it too!

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Sarah Miller

Highly recommend the Julie Abe books ( EVA EVERGREEN, ALIANA GIRL OF DRAGONS, TESSA MIYATA IS NO HERO) and then also Christina Soontornvant’s middle grade books (THE LAST MAPMAKER, A WISH IN THE DARK, LEGENDS OF LOTUS ISLAND SERIES).

I read them with my 9 year old girl who read all the Harry Potter books herself and wanted more magic/ heroism/ fantastical lands/ legends - and most of these are with a girl as the main character.

She also loved the TUESDAYS AT THE CASTLE SERIES and MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE MYSTERIES ( two girls solve murders in England).

THE IMPOSSIBLE DESTINY OF CUTIE GRACKLE was beautifully written.

Expand full comment

We seem to inadvertently be in our Sesame Street Cycle. We're loving:

Let's Celebrate Diversity: A Book About Us

The Monster at the End of This Book

P is for Potty

Some non-Sesame hits include:

10 Little Ghosts: A Magical Counting Storybook

Drip by Maggie Li

The Little Engine That Could

Expand full comment

Our most recent library haul has us reading The Bad Mood and The Stick by Lemony Snicket and Make Meatballs Sing by Matthew Burgess on repeat.

Expand full comment